Cricket World Cup squad finalised in consultation with Najam Sethi

By Raza Ruman

(Pakdestiny) The Pakistan Cricket Board Selection Committee finalised 15-man World Cup squad in consultation with de facto PCB chairman – Najam Sethi.
Sources told Pak Destiny that Najam Sethi had “full say” in the selection of the World Ccup 2011 squad. “It is better to say that only two persons – Sethi and Moin Khan – had selected the team
Left-hand middle-order batsman Fawad Alam, who has been Pakistan’s most reliable ODI batsman of late, will feel unlucky to have missed out, the selectors instead preferring another player in similar mould, Haris Sohail.
“We did consider both of them [Fawad and Malik], but in the end we believe Haris Sohail bowled well in the series against New Zealand with his left-arm bowling,” chief selector Moin Khan told a news conference today.
“He also gives us an added advantage of being a left-handed batsman.”
Fast bowler Junaid Khan also returned from a knee injury after missing the series against New Zealand, and will lead Pakistan’s pace attack with Mohammad Irfan.
Pakistan, placed in Group B, will open its campaign with a highly-charged clash against arch-rivals and defending champions India in Adelaide on February 15 followed by matches against the West Indies, Zimbabwe, the United Arab Emirates, South Africa and Ireland.
The top four teams from each of the two groups will qualify for the quarter-finals, leading up to the final in Melbourne on March 29.
Khan said the team was selected after consultation with Misbah and coach Waqar Younis.
“We selected the squad after thorough consultation… and although no one can give assurances of results, we are hopeful that the team will do well,” said Khan, a member of Pakistan’s only World Cup winning side in Australia in1992.
Former chief selector Muhammad Ilays criticized inclusion of Sohaib Maqsood whom he said selected on “parchi”.

Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz ahmed, Younis Khan, Harris Sohail, Misbah ul Haq, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz – Pak Destiny

Leave a Reply